CONTACT

Abandoned fish nets

In the Dakar region, thousands of abandoned fish nets (monofilaments and multifilaments nylon types), that are still hanging on sunken ships or lying on the sea bed continue to catch fish, even in the absence of anyone to collect it, causing a serious misuse of marine resources.

Annual large scale operation

Link Viméo video, « Abandoned fish nets »

Addressing this observation, Oceanium decided to lead a massive campaign of sea bed cleaning in 2011. The objectives were, on the one hand, to pull out as many abandoned fish nets as possible within one month, and on the other hand, to raise awareness among fishermen, public authorities, and the public at large on responsible fishing practices using cotton nets. More than 60 underwater trips resulted in the collection of more than five tons of nets by 80 volunteer divers coming from Senegal and abroad. 1350 people have been sensitised in ten sessions of cinema debates, and more than 500 people have participated in set-setal (public community cleaning events). This has continued every year since.

Plea towards the Senegalese authorities for the use of cotton made fish nets

Going beyond those results, Oceanium aims to lobby both the minister of fishing and the minister of commerce for the utilisation of cotton made fish nets. Strangely, nylon nets have been forbidden since 1998 (article 30 of the fishing code). However, a second law authorises their importation. In reality, nylon nets are found in the majority of fishing boats, with all the known consequences: abandoned nets continue to fish for no one, the sea is polluted because nylon nets need 400 to 500 years to decompose. Oceanium therefore conducts campaigns for the use of cotton nets. Because they are biodegradable and need only between six and 12 months to disappear, cotton nets present an adequate and sustainable alternative. Apart from the inconsistencies of the Senegalese authorities, the main obstacles to their use are: 1) the retail price of cotton nets, which are significantly more expensive, 2) their maintenance and, more importantly, their weight, as they are heavier than nylon nets when being pulled up into the pirogue.

Picasa gallery, « Abandoned fish nets: a disaster ! »

Filets perdus : un désastre !

Ensemble, protégeons notre planète !

CONTACT

Les filets perdus

  • rss

Dans la région de Dakar, des milliers de filets perdus (de type monofilaments et multifilaments en nylon), accrochés sur les épaves et les fonds marins continuent de pêcher pour personne, entraînant alors un véritable gâchis des ressources halieutiques.

Opération de grande ampleur chaque année

Lien vidéo Viméo, « Filets perdus »

Face à ce constat, l’Oceanium a décidé de mener en 2011, une campagne exceptionnelle de nettoyage des fonds marins. Avec l’objectif de remonter en un mois le maximum de filets dormants et de sensibiliser les pouvoirs publics, les communautés de pêcheurs et les populations à la pratique d’une pêche responsable par l’utilisation des filets en coton. Résultat 60 sorties en mer ont permis de récupérer plus de 5 tonnes de filets par 80 plongeurs volontaires venus du Sénégal et de l’étranger, 1350 personnes ont été sensibilisées par 10 séances de cinémas-débats et plus de 500 personnes ont participé à des set-setal (actions de nettoyage).

Plaidoyer auprès des autorités sénégalaises pour l’utilisation du filet coton

Au delà de ces résultats, l’Oceanium a pour objectif de sensibiliser les ministères de la pêche et du commerce à l’utilisation des filets en nylon. En effet, si le premier l’interdit depuis 1998 (article 30 du code la pêche), le second autorise son importation… Au final, on retrouve ces filets dans la majorité des embarcations de pêcheurs, avec les conséquences que l’on connaît : filets perdus qui continuent de pêcher, pollution marine car le filet en nylon met 400 à 500 ans pour disparaître, etc. L’Oceanium milite donc pour l’utilisation des filets en coton. Parce qu’il est biodégradable et met entre en 6 et 12 mois à disparaitre, il représente une solution adéquate et pérenne. A part les incohérences des autorités sénégalaises, les principaux freins à son utilisation sont : le prix d’achat du filet coton, qui est sensiblement plus cher ; l’entretien, qui est plus important ; son poids à la sortie de l’eau, qui est plus lourd à remonter dans la pirogue que les filets en nylon.

Galerie Picasa, « Filets perdus : un désastre ! »

Filets perdus : un désastre !

Ensemble, protégeons notre planète !

OCEANIUM DAKAR

Route de la petite Corniche Est BP 2224 Dakar Sénégal +221 338 22 24 41 +221 338 42 40 52

Ils nous soutiennent

© Crédits : Design ByReg - Powered by AK Project - Translated by Toni KAATZ-DUBBERKE